住房是人權

我們認為,每個人都應該擁有住房,因為住房是一項人權。我們政府的最基本職能是保護其居民,而當北德克薩斯州成千上萬的人每晚沒有住所時,我們將失敗。無家可歸是一種公共衛生危機,特別是在這種大流行期間。當負擔得起的住房選擇有限時,中產階級人士和工作家庭就不太可能找到打電話回家的地方。我們應得到為我們服務,為我們工作並為我們提供住房的公務員。

Happy Family
  • 通過大量投資可負擔得起的,負擔得起的住房,並為有最大需求的低收入房主提供強有力的財產稅減免,確保所有人在我們的城市中擁有住房。

  • 通過為高風險群體提供保護來擴展緊急避難所服務,尤其是針對殘疾人,無證居民,青年和LGBT +社區的保護。

  • 永久停止無家可歸社區的解散,這將貧困定為犯罪,而直接為庇護和安置弱勢社區提供服務。

  • 確保在緊急情況和災難期間不會關閉市政公用設施的住所。

  • 如果房東決定出售房屋,則給租房者購買房屋的選擇權。

  • 通過在低收入社區提供稅收留置權減免來防止高檔化,並確保將所有被拆除的住宅物業重建為可持續的高密度房屋,或以與現有周邊房屋相似的樣式和可比的價值進行重建。

  • 實施強有力的地方驅逐令,以防止家庭和個人陷入困境。

HOUSING IS A HUMAN RIGHT

We believe everyone deserves a home because housing is a human right. Our government’s most basic function is to protect its residents and we are failing when thousands of people in North Texas are without shelter every night. Houselessness is a public health crisis, particularly during this pandemic. When there are limited affordable housing options, middle class people and working families are less likely to be able to find a place to call home. We deserve public servants that serve us, work for us, and house us. 

Happy Family
  • Ensure all people have a home in our cities by substantially investing in accessible, deeply affordable housing and providing robust property tax relief to low income homeowners who have the greatest need.

  • Expand emergency shelter services with protections for high risk groups, specifically for people with disabilities, undocumented residents, youth, and LGBT+ communities.

  • Permanently stop the disbandment of houseless communities which criminalizes poverty and instead provide direct services to shelter and house vulnerable communities.

  • Guarantee municipal utilities will not be shut off for residences during emergencies and disasters.

  • Give renters the option to purchase their home if a landlord decides to sell the property.

  • Prevent gentrification by providing tax lien relief in low-income neighborhoods and ensure any residential properties being demolished are rebuilt as sustainable high density housing or in a similar style and comparable value to existing surrounding properties.

  • Implement robust, local eviction moratoriums so families and individuals don’t fall through the cracks.